Organogram 201811.jpg
GT Office Drone.jpg

 

GROUNDTRUTH DIRECTOR

 
GT MG.jpg

Dr Mark Graham

Specialist Aquatic Scientist

PhD (Botany), Pr. Sci. Nat

email: mark@groundtruth.co.za

+ Mark's background

Formal education

  • PhD (Botany, University of North West (Potchefstroom)
  • MSc (Biological Sciences, University of Natal, Durban)
  • BSc (Agriculture, University Natal, Pietermaritzburg) - majoring in Grassland Sciences
  • Professional Memberships/Accreditations:

  • Professional Natural Scientist (Pr.Sci.Nat) in Ecological Science - The South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions
  • Member -Southern African Society of Aquatic Scientists (SASAqS) Member -Freshwater Biological Association
  • Accredited Department of Water and Sanitation SASS5 practitioner, trainer and assessor
  • Current activities and research interests

    Provides specialist inputs to EIAs and Environmental Management Plans, specifically those associated with water related issues. Extensive involvement in the management & development of an ISO 17025 quality accredited laboratory and the National River Health Programme - Quality Assurance programme. Reserve studies, at both the rapid and intermediate level. Responsible for the co-development of numerous of the Reserve ecostatus models (e.g. IHI, VEGRAI, MIRAI)

    Experience

    Mark has thirty years experience in terrestrial and aquatic ecosystem functioning and management as well as having worked on numerous national and international projects investigating solutions to a range of practical and applied ecological problems.


    groundtruth wetlands division

    Craig Cowden

    Specialist Wetland Ecologist

    MSc (Environmental Science), Pr. Sci. Nat.

    email: craig@groundtruth.co.za

    + Craig's background

    Formal education

  • MSc (Environmental Science, Rhodes University)
  • BSc (Agriculture University of Natal, Pietermaritzburg) - Majoring in Wildlife Science and Zoology
  • Professional Memberships/Accreditations

  • Professional Natural Scientist (Pr.Sci.Nat) in Ecological Science - The South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions
  • Founding Member - South African Wetland Society
  • Member - Society of Wetland Scientists (International)
  • Member - Society of Ecological Restoration
  • Current activities and research interests

  • Ecosystem functioning and management, specializing in wetland ecosystems
  • Extensive experience in the development of wetland rehabilitation plans and wetland impact offsets
  • Experience

    Craig has 18 years experience in ecosystem functioning and management, specialising in wetland ecosystems. He manages the wetland division within GroundTruth, and provides specialist solutions and services to local and international industries, consultants, developers, non-government organisations, and regional and national government departments and programmes.

    THE REST OF THE WETLANDS TEAM

    GTW FE.jpg

    Fiona Eggers

    MSc (Botany), Pr. Sci. Nat.

    fiona@groundtruth.co.za

    GTW MJ.jpg
    GTW MG.jpg

    Megan Grewcock

    BSc Hons (Environmental Science: Wetlands)

    megan@groundtruth.co.za

    Matthew Janks

    MSc (Botany), Pr. Sci. Nat.

    matt@groundtruth.co.za

     

    GTW LH.jpg

    Lionel Hlongwane

    lionel@groundtruth.co.za

     

    GTW SE.jpg

    Steven Ellery

    MSc (Geomorphology)

    steven@groundtruth.co.za

    GTW LB.jpg

    Lesley Bloy

    MSc (Ichthyology)

    lesley@groundtruth.co.za


    Groundtruth Engineering division

    GTE TP.jpg

    Trevor Pike

    Principal Engineer

    BSc Eng (Civil), Pr. Eng. 

    email: trevor@groundtruth.co.za

    + Trevor's background

    Formal Education

  • BSc Engineering - Civil (University of Natal)
  • Professional Memberships:

  • Professional Engineer (Pr Eng) - Engineering Council of South Africa
  • Fellow - South African Institute of Agricultural Engineers
  • Founding Member - South African Wetland Society
  • Current activities and research interests

    Wetland rehabilitation planning, design and implementation. Forestry and agricultural road planning and design. Soil conservation planning, design and implementation. Project management.

    THE REST OF THE ENGINEERING TEAM

    GTE RD.jpg

    Ryan Domleo

    BSc Eng

    ryan@groundtruth.co.za

    GTE TH.jpg

    Tyler Harvey

    BSc Eng (Agric)

    tyler@groundtruth.co.za

    GTE AH.jpg

    Andrew Hull

    BSc Eng

    andrewhull@groundtruth.co.za

    GTE KMn.jpg

    Khwezi Mncwabe

    Engineering Technician in Training

    khwezi@groundtruth.co.za

    GTE KM.jpg

    Kishen Maharaj

    NDip Eng

    kishen@groundtruth.co.za


    groundtruth RIVERS division

    GT VRG.jpg

    Dr Vere Ross-Gillespie

    Specialist Aquatic Ecologist

    PhD (Zoology), Pr. Sci. Nat 

    email: vere@groundtruth.co.za

    + Vere's background

    Formal Education

  • BSc (Ecology and Environmental & Geographical Science, University of Cape Town)
  • BSc Hons. (Zoology, University of Cape Town)
  • Professional Memberships/Accreditations

  • Accredited SASS5 practitioner
  • Professional Natural Scientist (Pr.Sci.Nat) in Ecological Science - The South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions
  • Member of the South African Society of Aquatic Scientists (SASAqS)

    Current Activities and Research Interests

    Applied aquatic and ecological research with a speciality in aquatic Entomology. Aquatic ecological assessments including biomonitoring and water quality analysis. Specialist input to assessments of aquatic invertbrate, periphyton/diatom health assessments. GIS mapping and spatial analyses. Water Conservation and Water Demand Management Plans. Data management and anlaytical solutions. Providing specialist inputs to EIAs and Environmental Management Plans

    Vere has eight years of experience in the field of aquatic entomology and freshwater ecology. He currently acts as the section manager for the rivers division within GroundTruth, providing specialist freshwater consulting services and solutions for local and international projects. He is also involved in a wide range of active research projects, both local and international.

    Email: vere@groundtruth.co.za

  • THE REST OF THE RIVERS TEAM

    GT JH.jpg

    Jeff Hean

    PhD (Freshwater Zoology)

    jeff@groundtruth.co.za

    GT RT.jpg

    Juan Tedder

    BSc (Ecological Science), Cert. Sci. Nat.

    juan@groundtruth.co.za

    GT BS.jpg

    Bayanda Sonamzi

    BSc Hons (Zoology)

    bayanda@groundtruth.co.za

    GT PH.jpg
    GT AL.jpg
    GT CH.jpg

    Patsy Hampson

    MSc (Conservation Biology)

    patsy@groundtruth.co.za

    Ayanda Lepheana

    Ecological Technician

    ayanda@groundtruth.co.za

    Carla Hardman

    GIS / IT Technician

    carla@groundtruth.co.za

     

    groundtruth Biodiversity division

    Gary De Winnaar

    Terrestrial/Aquatic Ecologist

    MSc (Hydrology), Pr. Sci. Nat 

    email: gary@groundtruth.co.za

    + GARY'S BACKGROUND

    Formal Education

  • MSc (Hydrology, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Pietermaritzburg)
  • BSc (Hydrology and Zoology, University of Natal, Pietermaritzburg)
  • Professional Memberships/Accreditations:

  • Accredited SASS5 practitioner
  • Professional Natural Scientist (Pr.Sci.Nat) in Ecological Science - The South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions
  • Current Activities and Research Interests

  • Assessment of terrestrial and aquatic biodiversity and ecosystem functioning
  • Applied environmental hydrology
  • Fauna and flora surveys, including specialised sampling methods (e.g. bat echolocation monitoring and netting)
  • Aquatic biomonitoring and water quality analysis
  • Spatial modelling, mapping and analysis using GIS, including vegetation/land cover mapping, habitat fragmentation analysis, biodiversity planning, etc.
  • Providing specialist inputs to EIAs and Environmental Management Plans Experience
  • Gary has seven years of experience in the field of terrestrial and aquatic biodiversity and ecology. He currently manages the biodiversity division within GroundTruth, providing specialist services and solutions for local and international projects.


    Groundtruth administration

    GTA PC.jpg

    Penny Chambers

    penny@groundtruth.co.za

    GTA AR.jpg

    Allyson Robertson

    allyson@groundtruth.co.za